Bring your friend to work/Saturday at a Radio Station

A crocodile of children…

Let that roll off your tongue again… ‘A crocodile of children.’

That phrase is my current fascination from my current read “Rosie” by Lesley Pearse. Through Dr Google, I have come to learn that ‘a crocodile of’ is a countable noun referring to a long line of people, vehicles, children moving together.

20170404_120516

Lets try that out;  ‘I saw a crocodile of my colleagues going to the office.’

Mhhhh

‘A crocodile of people sounds fine on all levels’,

But ‘a crocodile of children?’

Well…..

That will take some getting used to.

What is incredulous though is, I had never heard of that term used anywhere before. Never. Such a surprise considering the number of years I have been speaking and learning the English language and those years are not few.

This story, however, is not about crocodiles or children but about a Saturday Afternoon I spent at a Kikuyu radio station.

On the said Saturday afternoon, I edged my way through a crocodile of vehicles (hehehe), to the radio station. It was bring-a-friend to work day which I feel we should adopt more in our workplaces. This will prepensely bring a greater appreciation to the different roles/effort we put in building the nation.

The only question a friend of mine wanted an answer to when I told them I was in a radio station was; “Did you have a good time?”

“No”. I responded

Before she got the bearing to the next question because clearly from her face that was not the answer she expected, I added; “I had a FANTAMAGORGEOUS time (of course this is a correct English word because that’s the feeling I had)”. 

For the Longest time, I had pictured a radio studio as this huge room with huge looking machines attached to every surface in the hall. With wires crisscrossing the floors and walls and a full desk of technicians making sure there is no misplacement of no sound or song in the connectivity (another reason we need ‘carry-friend-to-work-day’).

That right there was the first aberration between the picture in my head and the reality. To start with the studio (at least the one I was in) was a small room that cannot hold ten guests in a single show.

Let’s say you have a scenario where you have to host ten guests in a show; you would have to take turns with five people in the studio say their piece on air then step out and have the next group come in.  Having the whole group in the studio at once would require a choir-like formation with folks breathing down each other’s neck which we can all agree how comfortable that is.

On this visit, however, we were only two in the studio. The broadcaster and I, a friend of the studio. The show I sat in, comes on a Saturday afternoon. With this timing, the design of the show is relaxed with exclusive music playing, the occasional broadcaster banter and advertisements.

Since I was a friend of the studio and the wise Kikuyu old told us ‘Mugeeni ni rui‘, the broadcaster allowed me to choose what songs I wanted to be heard. This does not mean the listeners only got to listen to my selection since as the presenter evidently pointed out, I was biased towards some artist.

The best bit of sitting in that small room that was heavily padded to mute any sounds emitting from it was listening and singing along as loudly as I could to the Kikuyu songs no judgement just as I do inside my house. As those in my circle can attest to, I know my Kikuyu ‘muthungutho’ songs. I do not mean ati I know a chorus and a few lines at the end of every verse of the song. NO. I mean I know the songs.

Trying to Paint out the scene in that studio; here is a presenter who knows his songs, in a show, he is not obliged to speak much. In that same studio at the same time is a friend of the studio who knows her songs and is not afraid to show off. The noise emanating from our gracious voices in that studio is I believe the greatest reason why radio stations are sound proof.

On one corner of the studio, they have a CCTV. The CCTV as I came to learn transmits the happenings in the studio to the security desk. This I mention because there were two times, a guard came into the studio in the course of the show, and I was certain he was going to kick me out because even I as a visitor I was having too much fun. Let it be known however that he did not kick me out.

“How sure are you that people are listening to the show?” I asked the broadcaster

To which he gave me a peep to the message and Facebook posts that come in, in the course of the show.  The number of salaams messages and songs requests that come in at any one single show as it was evident is in hundreds. Before that, I always assumed presenters have a name pool of their ardent fans that they pick from and read from in every show.

The only downtime of this, however, was reminiscing on what ifs. What if Sam Kinuthia had not passed on before he did a collaboration with Joseph Kariuki wa Kiarutara? Can you imagine those two Kikuyu thimo giants coming together on an album or simply on one song? In this same song, John De Mathew does the chorus while Mwangi Kiunjuri does the recitation? Can you imagine what we even call that song? Or how that song would be? I will not even start on what ifs of CDM Kiratu and Joseph Kamaru.

We should have a bring your friend to work national day in Kenya.

Thimo

  • Mugunda uraga na utere
  • Weru ndukungaguo na cuka mweru
What say you?

