Kikuyu Music, Eavesdropping and Raria Mwaki (play Review)

I have been meaning to review this play since 8:00 am but youtube, specifically, Kikuyu music has taken over.

I can put a stamp on it now and say we’ve had (RIPs) and continue to have great Kikuyu musicians.  Say it together with me now.  We’ve had (RIPs) and continue to have great Kikuyu musicians.

While we are at it,is there any Kikuyu musician(especially the men) who has not sang about their mother?

I know a whole lot of Kikuyu music (a whole lot being an understatement) and I can confidently say it does not matter if its the old goons like Sam Kinuthia or the younger ones like Gathee wa Njeri, MOST of the KIKUYU MALE MUSICIANS HAVE SANG ABOUT or ON THEIR MOTHER. Take that to the bank.

I thought of listing all those songs here but I had already titled this a play review so maybe some other time.

Fresh off the newly formed Renegade ventures is their second play titled ‘Raria Mwaki’. I did a review of their first play here,have a look.

I make my way to KNT (I always love when the plays are at KNT) for the 3:00pm Saturday  show only to learn the play is set to start at 3:30pm. With half an hour to spare, I sit at the KNT garden and decide to catch up on my book (Order in Chaos by Jack Whyte) and enjoy the warmth of the sun that was fighting to peep out.

Sit? I did. Catch up? I tried to. Let me explain. I share a seat with two gentlemen having a rather interesting conversation on people and churches(I would blog about that too but I ended up talking to one of the gentlemen after the play and he was nice so I’ll let it be).

Have you ever eavesdropped a conversation to the point you feel you deserve to express your opinions now? or you have answers to that question they just only it was not posed to you? or when its time to laugh you feign this cough because you cannot keep the laughter in? That was me on that bench. And God knows I tried keeping out of it. Ohh I tried

20160828_151544

Picture taken to cover the blatant eavesdrop

The conversation comes to an abrupt end when  Ukumbi mdogo doors finally open at 3:30pm leaving me with so many unanswered questions and answers to so many of their questions .

3:50pm.The play starts.

Daisy is under sponsorship(Kenyan version of it). All is well until all her sponsors decide to  arrive on the same day.

Sponsor 1(one),Peter, arrives with what he provides in that house, beans( ‘Mboco’ in Kikuyu). A minute for that to sink in.

Joy,Daisy’s friend and also their church chair lady comes in second. She has come over for a sleepover on her way to Murang’a from Eastleigh where she gets her merchandise for sale. Daisy hides Peter and tries to get rid of Joy. Meanwhile, sponsor no.2(two), General, arrives. Daisy decides instead of getting rid of Joy to use her instead to keep the two sponsors from knowing who they are.

Daisy in no mood for judgement from her church friend  hides Peter and tries to get rid of Joy. Meanwhile, sponsor no.2(two), General, arrives. Daisy decides instead of getting rid of Joy to use her instead to keep the two sponsors apart. The only problem though, sponsor no.3(three),Ngure also checks in; with his ‘nyundo’ (hammer). Another minute for that to sink in.

Demi na mathathi(Kikuyu reference for very long time ago)  is what came to mind when I saw Ngure. This man here gave such an old man vibe he was my favourite character.  Add this to his unending Thimos and Ndais (proverbs and riddles) and I was in such a good place, I loved it.  In summary, the play was effort to keep the three men away from each other and the men’s fight to claim their stake in being part of Daisy.

The two-hour play produced by Tash Mitambo and directed by John ‘Fish’ Chege  was staged on 26th-28th August at KNT Ukumbi Mdogo with a great cast to boot.

20160902_142936-1[1]

After the play I ask the gentleman mentioned above how the play was and he said nice.

I also ask a friend who went for the 6:30 pm show  and he also said nice.

So did I like the play?

I’ll answer this by stating, we cannot go back to having a play where people are hiding from each other. The sort of play where person A misses person B on stage because person A went out through  door 1 just before person B entered through door2 or window.

NO….. We cannot go back there. I had mentioned on that here

WE SERIOUSLY CANNOT GO BACK THERE.

My two cents.

2 thoughts on “Kikuyu Music, Eavesdropping and Raria Mwaki (play Review)

What say you?

