My trip to Sarakasi Dome- “Mwatu Wene by Ikenia Arts”

Caller: “Hello…..”

Mi: “Hello….. go ahead”

That’s me answering a call outside the Sarakasi Dome in the middle of an ongoing play which needs a mention now that its never happened before. Not the answering of a call but the stepping out.I always bend behind the seats to pick the call while my second ear is left to listen in on the play. The stepping out therefore for those that call me Kui or Mugweru without  joining the two words to call me Kui wa Mugweru as it reads on the blog, which is another way of saying those who know me beyond these blog posts, is enough to summarize the play that was. But since these posts are mostly for those that only know me through these posts(I feel like i’ve used the word post  enough times to last me through the next 100 posts-there it goes again), I am that audience member that gets so carried away in the play Id probably recite  three quarters of the play word for word starting with the anthem in the mention of money (kidding but you get the point). That said, Stepping out for me to answer a call in the middle of a play is a BIG deal and can only mean two things: an emergency, or the play…….(fill in the blank spaces)

Finding my way to Sarakasi Dome was  all excitoz for me because that building  stands out and I had a good enough reason to explore what the architects though the inside should look like. Add that to the fact that it was a change of location by Ikenia arts from Herisquare and that should answer why I entered the hall smiling incase you were wondering. With expectations built up,a date was set for Ikenia arts “Mwatu Wene” opening show on Friday the 7th. Sarakasi dome lived up to my imagination and ideal set up for a theatre hall. Raised stage and a slanted audience sitting area. (On that note, why is there such a contrast between the outside and the inside of that building?) Perched on the best vantage point or so I felt, eyes set on the stage with a wonder of why the gents were so near the stage, it was time for  “mitheko itangitigithia” as advertised

7pm the play starts.  On stage is an accident scene at the valley road round about (not sure about the location) between a lady and a man which is also woven to be the last scene. The play through four scenes- accident scene, supermarket (and why you don’t want to be caught stealing condoms), Kings for “King’eero slums and back to the accident scene- highlights ladies on the “Sponsors” prowl  and how men are beating them at their own game.This keeps you sitted for two and a half hours with a few breaks in between for scene changes.

Four days later and lines such as “ukubwa wa gari haijalishi, kiti ya dereva ni ile ile”, not forgetting THAT SPECIFIC nine cast member the play had, I still have this feeling like am waiting for it to kick in. The best I can do to try and describe the feeling is that you get when you are ready to sneeze but the sneeze disappears and you are left feeling like you are waiting for something because you were ready for the sneeze(got it, no? me neither). Having “Thanju Ndeme” as the preceding show does not help matters either because save for the location, that was really a good play.

Wondering whether I missed something  so critical  that unsettled how I was supposed to watch the play i’ll leave it at that but not without mentioning; I asked the person next to me how the play was and they said “ilikuwa poa tu” (with a facial expression that seemed to say, that is the answer you were expecting, right?) .

20150811_130034-1[1]

What say you?

